Mental Health education
in Schools

project day implementation 

Polar-Lights-Awareness-Logo-Concept-#3_white-letters-(no-border).png

next steps

It emerges from the interviews that mental health and mental illnesses are hardly ever dealt with in the classroom. At the same time, these topics are rarely addressed at home. The fact that early signs are not recognized, helplessness prevails or symptoms are kept secret seems to be a natural consequence. In Germany, there are only a few campaigns that try to provide preventive education in this area at school. Why are there "Don't Smoke" project days, but one of the most common causes of death among young people receives no attention at all? 

 

In the future, there should be 1-2 school days that allow space to talk about mental illness and clarify unanswered questions. Completely without taboo!  

 

I have already collected a few rough points for the course of the project:

 

  • Funding [current phase]

  • Acquisition of project partners

  • Target groups and needs assessment

  • Development of teaching and learning materials

  • Testing of the project days in schools

  • Evaluation

  • Adaptation to other countries

  • Dissemination of the concept in different languages

Like almost everything in life, the development of a concept and the following testing costs money. Especially for travel expenses, printing costs and workload, a lot of donations are needed. If you want to support me, please click on the donate button.

Polar Awareness Home about bkgd.png

why me?

My professional career at least gives me the necessary qualifications. I am a graduated nurse (for the most part in a psychiatry), I have studied vocational education in health care and I worked a semester in a psychiatric day clinic. I know how to deal with teenage clients from my work as a first aid trainer.

 

In addition, I can also present the perspective of an affected person on a personal level and thus possibly explain more vividly how certain illnesses affect life. I have therapy experience myself and can answer questions about it.

 

A small part of me surely hopes for a therapeutic effect for myself. I have been out of my job for a while now and have problems focusing and motivating myself. Working at my own pace - on something that is very close to my heart - may get me back on track. 

 

And...if not me, who else? If you want something to change, you have to do something yourself!

Mental Health education
in Schools

project day implementation 

Polar-Lights-Awareness-Logo-Concept-#3_white-letters-(no-border).png

next steps

Es zeichnet sich in den Interviews ab, dass psychische Gesundheit und psychische Erkrankungen kaum im Unterricht behandelt werden. Zeitgleich finden diese Themen auch im Elternhaus selten Beachtung. Das Frühzeichen nicht erkannt werden, Ratlosigkeit herrscht oder Symptome verheimlicht werden, erscheint da als eine logische Konsequenz. In Deutschland gibt es nur wenige Kampagnen, die sich in der Schule um präventive Aufklärung in diesem Bereich bemühen. Warum gibt es "Don't Smoke" Projekttage, aber eine der häufigsten Todesursachen bei Jugendlichen, findet keinerlei Beachtung? 

In Zukunft sollte es 1-2 Schultage geben, die Raum dafür schaffen, über psychische Erkrankungen zu reden und offene Fragen zu klären. Komplett ohne Tabu!  

Ein paar grobe Punkte für den Projektverlauf, habe ich schon gesammelt:

  • Funding [momentane Phase]

  • Akquise von Projektpartnern

  • Zielgruppen und Bedarfsermittlung

  • Entwicklung der Lehr- und Lernunterlagen

  • Testung der Projekttage in Schulen

  • Evaluation

  • Anpassung auf andere Länder

  • Verbreitung des Konzepts in verschiedenen Sprachen

Wie fast alles im Leben, kostet die Entwicklung eines Konzepts und die folgende Erprobung Geld. Vor allem für Fahrtkosten, Druckkosten und Arbeitsaufwand, wird einiges an Spenden benötigt. Wenn ihr mich supporten wollt, dann klickt gerne auf den Donate-Button.

 

Polar Awareness Home about bkgd.png

why me?

Meine berufliche Laufbahn bringt zumindest schon mal die fachliche Qualifikation mit. Ich habe Gesundheits- und Krankenpflege gelernt (zum Großteil in einer Psychiatrie), habe Berufspädagogik im Gesundheitswesen studiert und mein Fachsemester in einer psychiatrischen Tagesklinik gemacht. Den Umgang mit jugendlichem Klientel kenne ich aus meinem Einsatz als Erste-Hilfe Trainer.

 

Zudem kann ich auf persönlicher Ebene auch die Perspektive eines Betroffenen darstellen und so eventuell nochmal bildhafter erklären wie gewisse Erkrankungen das Leben beeinflussen. Ich habe selbst Therapieerfahrung und kann dazu Fragen beantworten.

Ein kleiner Teil von mir erhofft sich sicher auch selbst einen therapeutischen Effekt. Ich bin nun schon eine ganze Weile aus meinem Job raus und habe Probleme dabei mich zu fokussieren und zu motivieren. In eigenem Tempo an einer Sache zu arbeiten, die mir sehr am Herzen liegt, bringt mich vielleicht wieder auf die richtige Spur. 

Und...Wenn nicht ich, wer dann? Wer möchte, dass sich was verändert, muss selbst etwas dafür tun!